Latest News


Beggars Music is completely focused on its writers and determinedly independent, administering its own rights in a full service office backed with uniquely experienced management. We believe strongly that a publisher’s role is to add value to a writer’s life and career and that in order to do so we must remain at the forefront of developments in both technology and the industry itself.

Beggars Music was born in January 2010 to strengthen and expand the Beggars Group’s publishing interests.

We are extremely proud of our roster of artists and are uniquely placed to work in close partnership with some of the most exciting and innovative labels in the world; XL, 4AD, Matador, Rough Trade, Stolen Recordings and Young Turks.

Latest News


New Signing – Snail Mail


Snail Mail is the Baltimore based indie rock project of 18 year old, Lindsey Jordan. She released a six song EP titled, “Habit,” on DC punks Priests’ Sister Polygon Records in July of 2016. The record features a full band with Shawn Durham on drums and Ryan Vieira on bass.


In their “Best New Track” review for the EPs opening track “Thinning”, Pitchfork describes Jordan as possessing a voice that “sounds like it’s coming from a distance, perfect for a song with lines about wanting to lie face down on the floor for a whole year and the triumph of wasting time”.

In addition to her standout vocal abilities, Jordan is a classically trained guitarist of twelve years and experiments often with various guitar tunings and techniques in order to generate Snail Mail’s unique sound.





NPR Tiny Desk Concert


Coming February 16 : Car Seat Headrest – ‘Twin Fantasy’ ; “Nervous Young Inhumans” Video Premiere


Car Seat Headrest fans, new and old alike, will be elated to learn that Will Toledo’s 2011’s Bandcamp masterpiece, ‘Twin Fantasy’, has been re-recorded and re-imagined for release on February 16th on Matador Records. With a seven-piece band in tow (including members of Naked Giants), Car Seat Headrest will bring its explosive and live show to Australia, Europe, and select West Coast cities through the first half of 2018, with a full US tour to be announced at a later date.

Today’s album announcement comes with the release of “Nervous Young Inhumans” and its accompanying video, which can be seen above. It is a frenetic, anthemic, split-screen choreographed crescendo, and the result of Toledo’s visionary work as a first-time director.





New Signing – The Weather Station


We are delighted to announce our latest signing – The Weather Station! It is the project of Toronto-based songwriter Tamara Lindeman, who is signed to Paradise of Bachelors and has just released her fourth – and most forthright – album, The Weather Station.

Self-titled and self-produced, the album unearths a vital new energy from Lindeman’s acclaimed songwriting practice, marrying it to a bold new sense of confidence.


Lindeman and her band have toured extensively in North America, Europe, Australia, and Japan, both as a headliner and as support for artists such as The War on DrugsThe Mountain GoatsDamien JuradoBahamas, and Basia Bulat.


“Timeless… Measured, perceptive storytelling. A singer with an unmistakable & communicative voice, able to convey hope & hurt with equal clarity.” – Pitchfork



Twitter: @TheWeatherStn

Instagram: @theweatherstation

The Weather Station at NPR’s Tiny Desk.


New Signing – This Is The Kit


We are delighted to announce that we have signed This Is The Kit, through imprint 4AD Songs, to the publishing roster.


This Is The Kit is the project of Bristol-bred, Paris-based singer-songwriter Kate Stables, whose thoughtful, guitar-seasoned songs have gathered fans including long-time PJ Harvey collaborator John Parish and the National’s Aaron Dessner, who have produced her albums and played with her.


The band are signed to Rough Trade Records and their fourth album came out in 2017, Moonshine Freeze.

We are very excited begin working with them!




It’s been directed by Alice Clingan, who also took the helm for her ‘Waterslides’ video, and was filmed at Hannah Rodgers’ local football club, Walcountians. The clip itself has Hannah hanging out in the dressing room with her band, and instigating a neon-lit silent disco.

Pixx is currently on tour across the UK with HMLTD, but she’s also got her own bunch of headline dates booked in for a couple of weeks’ time. Tickets are on sale now.


Alice Boman is back with new track and video


Returning from a self-imposed musical exile following a triumphant run of early releases, haunted Swedish songwriter Alice Boman brings forth new single ‘Dreams’. A bleary-eyed, emotion-packed reflection on the dissolution of hope, it’s a track that’s strengthened by the silence it emerges from. 

For the video Alice decided to head to Vårhallarna, an area of Sweden to which she has a strong personal connection. It was directed by Jeanne Lula Chauveau with art and creative direction by Jeanne Lula Chauveau and Aëla Labbé.

Penning her first EPs while sitting by her grandparents old piano, with nothing but a handheld voice recorder to hand, Alice’s first two releases – 2013’s Skisser EP and 2014’s EP II – were a document of her innermost emotions, pieced together in the sanctum of her teenage home.

“It will be so nice to share what I’ve been doing,” Alice says. “I’m a bit of a perfectionist, but the songs I love the most are far from perfect. I want my songs to feel alive – that’s the magic.”

She plays St. Pancras Church in London twice on Feb 28th.
Show 1:
Doors: 7:00pm
Curfew: 8.30pm
Show 2:
Doors: 9:00pm
Curfew: 11pm

Doors 7:00pm (ends 11:00pm)


Gengahr release new single ‘Carrion’ from forthcoming album


Over two years since the band’s five star-rated debut album ‘A Dream Outside’, the quartet have shared new single ‘Carrion’, the first taster of their upcoming second album.

Speaking about the track in a press release, lead singer Felix Bushe says: “‘Carrion’ is one of the hardest hitting tracks we have written, both musically and lyrically… The track is full of snark and bitterness, but also offers hope and triumph over the oppressive nature of the world we live in today.’

The band have also announced an intimate London show for next month. They’ll play the capital’s Omeara venue on 13th October.


Sampha wins Mercury Prize


Last night, Sampha was announced as the winner of the 2017 Mercury Prize. The most prestigious award in British music was given to the artist for his phenomenal debut album Process, released back in January.

“It feels amazing,” he said in a press conference following the awards ceremony. “It has taken me a while to feel like I’m emotionally stable enough to write my own record and everyone was so lovely to give me the time to create it. I put my heart and soul into the record and I’m very proud of it. It’s a very internal record and I think that comes across. It’s great to be recognised for that.”

Sampha was one of the very first artists to sign a publishing deal with Beggars Music and the company is very proud to see him reach this incredible milestone in his career.